Digital Streaming Premiere – The Cleveland Orchestra

Donnerstag, März 11, 2021
7:00 pm
Severance Hall, Mandel Concert Hall
11001 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, 44106, Vereinigte Staaten
Show Map
Lade Karte ...
Digital Streaming Premiere - The Cleveland Orchestra

In Focus Episode 6
Digital Streaming Premiere: Thursday, March 11 at 7:00 p.m. — filmed March 4-7

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
The Cleveland Orchestra

Rodion SHCHEDRIN,  Selections from Carmen Suite (for percussion and string orchestra)

Bizet’s colorful and flamboyant opera Carmen, with its eye-popping portrayal of on-the-street living filled with smoking, fighting, and drinking women scandalized Parisian audiences but became wildly famous for its music and emotional intensity. Franz Welser-Möst offers a different look at this beloved work through a brilliant arrangement for string orchestra and percussion, created as a ballet score by Russian composer Rodion Shchedrin for his dancer wife, prima ballerina Maya Plisetskaya. The intense passions of this famously tune-filled opera are revealed in unexpected detail across thirteen movements, just begging you to dance.

Free to subscribers as part of the Orchestra’s In Focus broadcast series on the Adella app and