Digital Streaming Premiere – The Cleveland Orchestra

Donnerstag, Mai 20, 2021
7:00 pm
Severance Hall, Mandel Concert Hall
11001 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, 44106, Vereinigte Staaten
Show Map
Lade Karte ...
Digital Streaming Premiere - The Cleveland Orchestra

In Focus
Episode 11
Digital Streaming Premiere: Thursday, May 20 at 7:00 p.m.

Performing Artists

The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Afendi Yusuf, clarinet
Stephen Rose, violin
Jeanne Preucil Rose, violin
Lynne Ramsey, viola
Mark Kosower, cello


Wolfgang A. MOZART, Clarinet Quintet in A major
Alban BERG,  Three Pieces from Lyric Suite

A program of juxtaposition from two of music’s most creative composers, writing in two styles more than a century apart.

First comes Mozart’s poignant Clarinet Quintet, written during a difficult and unhappy year for the composer, yet filled with sweet and warm music that brings comfort, fresh perspective, and hope — Mozart bringing order to his disordered life.

For Alban Berg, the process of musical creation was an intensely-driven search for innovative answers using old materials in new ways — to shake up the old order into newly disordered beauty. In his Lyric Suite, he creates solace and splendor in contrasting string voices, buzzing and interacting with hard-edged vitality and poetic grace.

In addition to the concert performances, each episode of In Focus includes behind-the-scenes interviews and features about the music and musicmaking.

Read more >>>

Free to subscribers as part of the Orchestra’s In Focus broadcast series on the Adella app and